If you live in an apartment, you have just as much of a right to privacy as any homeowner. Here’s a brief look at Florida’s laws concerning when and how your landlord may enter your rental unit.
When Are Landlords Allowed to Enter Your Rental Property?
Although your landlord doesn’t always need an invitation to enter your apartment, all tenants have a right to privacy in their rental units. According to Florida law, a landlord can enter an apartment:
- If he or she believes there is an emergency, like a fire or a water leak.
- If he or she needs to inspect the rental unit or perform repairs in it.
- If he or she has a reason to believe that the rental unit has been abandoned.
- If he or she needs to show the rental unit to potential new tenants.
- If he or she has a court order to do so.
How Much Notice Must Landlords Provide Before Entering the Rental Property?
Besides emergencies, your landlord must notify you at least 12 hours in advance before entering your apartment for the aforementioned reasons. Of course, if you agree that your landlord can enter your rental unit earlier than the 12-hour notice, he or she may do so. A landlord must also enter during a suitable timeframe, which Florida law states is between 7:30 A.M. and 8 P.M.
What Rights Do You Have as a Tenant if Your Landlord Violates?
The first thing you should do is discuss your concerns directly with your landlord, following it with a letter politely asking him or her to stop the intrusive behavior. If your landlord continues to violate your right to privacy, you could sue him or her in small claims court for infliction of emotional distress or trespassing.
Stephen K. Hachey can help you wade through this difficult process to reach a positive solution. Call 813-549-0096 today!
***The opinions in this blog are those of the author whom takes full responsibility for the content. Like all other content on the site, this does not constitute legal advice and is for general information purposes only.***